County vs City Fireworks Regulations

For Saline County and Salina residents there are different regulations for the discharge of fireworks in the city and county. To help clarify we are providing information for citizens on the sale, discharge, and regulations.

Saline County (to include the cities of Brookville, Smolan, New Cambria, Assaria, and Gypsum):

Dates of Sale – June 27th through July 5th from 8 a.m. to Midnight each day

Dates of Discharge – June 27th through July 5th from 8 a.m. to Midnight each day

City of Salina:

Dates of Sale – June 27th through July 4th from 8a.m. to 10 p.m. each day

Dates of Discharge – July 3rd and 4th ONLY from 8am to 11pm each day

Fireworks Displays: July 4th – Sky Fire


When using approved consumer fireworks, a person shall not ignite or discharge fireworks:

a. While on public property;

b. While on private property without the express written consent of the property owner, including the property owner’s name, address, telephone number and signature;

c. Into, under, or from a car or vehicle, whether moving or standing still, or on a public roadway or the right-of-way adjoining a public roadway;

d. Within 100 feet of any hospital, sanitarium, infirmary, nursing home, or assisted living facility;

e. Within 300 feet of any consumer fireworks facility;

f. So as to throw, cast, or propel the fireworks in the direction of or into the path of any person or group of persons, whether on foot, on a bicycle, on a motorcycle or in a vehicle;

g. So as to impact adjoining property from either direct contact from fireworks or the residue resulting from the use of fireworks.

To report fireworks violations, contact the Salina Police Department at 785-826-7210 or Saline County Sheriff at 785-826-6500. Do Not call 911 unless it is an emergency.